Skip to content
June 23, 2016 / carriebee

[finished] Donut potholders

This is (apparently) the year of the potholder for me! I finished two sets of donut potholders this month. This super cute pattern by the talented Pen and Paper Patterns can be found on Craftsy here.

A photo posted by @carriebee04 on May 31, 2016 at 10:17am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

One tip if you’re going to make these – and I think you should – is that a 23″ x 2.25″ strip of bias-cut binding works well. I cut a 23″ strip of binding and use the Binding Tool by TQM to cut the 45 degree angled edges. I sew the angled edges of the binding together, press, pin liberally, and machine stitch the binding on.

I sent the chocolate sprinkle donuts to my brother-in-law and his family just in time for National Donut Day. I had a hunch they would not let the day go uncelebrated. They didn’t 🙂

A photo posted by @carriebee04 on Jun 18, 2016 at 1:28pm PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

The rainbow sprinkle donuts are for my family. We also couldn’t let National Donut Day go uncelebrated – we made a brief stop at a Dunkin Donuts on our way to Mystery Cave State Park. Big chain donuts are ok in a pinch, but my all-time favorite donuts are the cherry and blueberry cake donuts from Donutland in Iowa. I’ve searched for a comparable Minneapolis/St. Paul donut shop and Granny’s Donuts comes pretty close. I still go back to Donutland every chance I get, though.

Leave a comment