Skip to content
July 7, 2016 / carriebee

La Passacaglia quilt

The first time I saw a La Passacaglia quilt on Instagram, I thought “wow, that’s beautiful!” My next thoughts were “those pieces are tiny,” “that is a LOT of work,” and “that whole project is crazy-pants. I’m not doing that.”

Well… here I am… making one of those. There are too many cute cogs popping up on my Instagram feed. A bunch of fellow MMQG members have started. And last fall when I visited my friend Julie we jumped on the bandwagon, too.

A photo posted by @carriebee04 on Oct 11, 2015 at 9:47am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

The pieces are tiny. And it will take a lot of time. But it’s so fun!

I’m using templates from Sunset Seams, precut papers from Paper Pieces, a SewLine glue pen and fancy Tulip needles from a recent Massdrop. I bought some vintage Tupperware on eBay to hold all my supplies.

My La Passacaglia supplies.//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

I’ve made a little progress in the last 8 months. I still need to choose fabrics for the diamonds in cog #1.

A photo posted by @carriebee04 on Jul 2, 2016 at 6:48am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

My plan is to sew the first three rounds of a bunch of cogs, then decide on a layout and start the next rounds. Here’s cog #2.

A photo posted by @carriebee04 on Jul 6, 2016 at 8:46am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

I’m drawing the line at fussy-cutting star points. I still think that’s crazy-pants.

Leave a comment